OX KNIT

Knitting and some other stuff. Show off your finished items here, on the OXKNIT Facebook page or on Ravelry. Stuck? Got a question? Just ask. There's a new 'How Do I Page' for random questions, you can ask anonymously without joining wordpress. Click on the OXKNIT header to return to the home page from any of the blog posts.

Bell Ringing and knitting


I just rang my first ever quarter peal! For the uninitiated that’s 45 minutes solid of ringing a church bell weighing several tonnes. Not just making it go ‘dong’ either, you have to make it go ‘dong’ at the right time each time along with at least five other people who are all also using a long bit of rope to manage a couple of tonnes of swinging metal. My arms ache a bit now!

I’ve been a church bellringer for years now, I think it has a fair bit in common with knitting. For example this is a picture of a church bell ‘tune’ written down

DSC01253

Doesn’t look wildly different to a cable pattern does it? In fact, at least one ‘tune’ has been converted into a cabled scarf. There’s a picture of it on this article about bell ringing and knitting. If I ever get done with my Christmas knitting, the two jumpers I have on the go, the several pairs of socks and of course my Squeggie (pattern to follow very soon, honest!) I intend to knit a couple of different ones up. It might help me remember where I’m supposed to be going when I’m ringing! How many other knitting ringers are there out there? My tower have just about got used to me bringing my knitting to practice nights. If you’re a ringing knitter say hi in the comments!

The Christmas tree keeps getting stuff added to it too, hopefully next year it’ll look really good with some larger bits and bobs on it.

DSC01254

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2012 by in Knitting stuff in gerneral and tagged , , , , .

Twitter Updates

Money raised for Madagascar from knitting pattern sales and knitterly type donations

£17.50 Read more about it HERE

No-Sew Bunting for Madagascar Projects (each project represents a little bit of help for the people of Madagascar)

Find the link to the blog post in the patterns index (above the OXKNIT header on this page)

Project count

Crocodile cushion cover

Jayne Cobb hat tea cosy

Xena Wristband

Simple Boot Cuff Knitted in the Round

Really, really easy beginner hand warmer

Easy lace mesh scarf for beginners

Old Shale Cowl

Cwtch Up

