OX KNIT

Knitting and some other stuff. Show off your finished items here, on the OXKNIT Facebook page or on Ravelry. Stuck? Got a question? Just ask. There's a new 'How Do I Page' for random questions, you can ask anonymously without joining wordpress. Click on the OXKNIT header to return to the home page from any of the blog posts.

Money, money, money!


Pile of presents and other recently finished items. All bunched up so the gifts are a surprise to the recipients!

Money, money, money!

Or the lack of it! This Christmas everyone is getting knitted gifts, even the decorations on the tree will be knitted. This is partly because I’m waiting for my new jobs to start and partly because every spare penny I have needs to go towards my trip to madagascar. For anyone who doesn’t know, Madagascar is in the ‘top ten’ poorest countries in the world. 76% of it’s people live below the poverty line (they live on less than US$234 a year), less than 3% of children have access to good quality drinking water.

I  will be leading a team of UK scouts who are aged between 16 and 24, they will spend two weeks working on a project to provide sanitation facilities, fresh water and education to a village community, they will then spend two weeks exploring Madagascar. This is as a apart of a larger expedition, the details for the whole thing can be found here. I will arrive in Madagascar a month and a half before the scouts and will divide my time between setting up and overseeing the construction section of the project (with the best will in the world a group of scouts can’t dig a cess pit suitable for 200 people by hand in 10 days!) and the other half of my time working in children’s homes and schools in the area. The whole thing is going to cost me about £3500 so I need as much help as I can get to fund it. Here is a video about Akany Avoko, one of the places I will be supporting.
The very lovely Darn it and Stitch have allowed me to borrow a bit of their shop to raise some money so this Saturday I will be there all day running a knitting SOS drop in. You can just pop by and I’ll do what I can to help solve your knitting problems, whatever they may be. There will be a tin on the desk so you can show your gratitude by emptying your spare change into it! So bring in that jumper you’re struggling to seam up, the pattern you can’t understand or just your enthusiasm to learn a new technique or stitch.
If you can’t make it in to Oxford there are other ways you can help. I have a page on We Fund, any ammount you can spare is welcome! There is also a knitting pattern Bunting for Madagascar which is available from Ravelry and Craftsy. Please buy it and put up pictures of your finished bunting here and on Ravelry, I’d love to see them! You can even help out without making any effort at all! Just buy your knitting books etc from Amazon by using the Oxknit Bookshop link, Amazon will pay me a percentage of their profits.

I’ve had hardly any personal knitting time, mostly I’ve been knitting presents and I can’t post pictures and spoil the surprise before Christmas so I’ve very little to show off. I have just completed a pair of Christmas socks which I’ll be wearing around the house on the day, here they are;

Christmas Socks

One comment on “Money, money, money!

  1. Pingback: Knit Night: A Tale of Good Intentions

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2012 by in Knitting stuff in gerneral and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Money raised for Madagascar from knitting pattern sales and knitterly type donations

£17.50 Read more about it HERE

No-Sew Bunting for Madagascar Projects (each project represents a little bit of help for the people of Madagascar)

Find the link to the blog post in the patterns index (above the OXKNIT header on this page)

Project count

Crocodile cushion cover

Jayne Cobb hat tea cosy

Xena Wristband

Simple Boot Cuff Knitted in the Round

Really, really easy beginner hand warmer

Easy lace mesh scarf for beginners

Old Shale Cowl

Cwtch Up

